My Health Habits

OK I didn’t blog yesterday.  I seem to be having trouble getting started.  I feel I should be blogging about what is on my mind at the time I’m writing and what is on my mind a great deal of the time lately is my health.  My exercise and eating habits.  For those of you who don’t know I had a triple bypass surgery on May 2nd.  I have gone to two nutrition classes since then (part of my rehabilitation program at Kaiser).  One of the classes is Vegetarian Nutrition and the other was Heart Healthy Nutrition.  So of course I am supposed to have nothing fried, very little or no red meat, no fat or low fat dairy products, watch my sodium, no junk food, no fast food, and watch my sweets (since I also have type 2 diabetes).

I am not succeeding with this program.  Oh I am much better than before, but I had fried chicken a week ago and last night I had a fried pork chop.  No matter what the pork community tells you about it being the other white meat…the Heart Healthy class has it classified as red meat.  I feel bad whining about this because others have much worse problems than I do, but I’m doing it anyway.  I have a very hard time with the junk food issue (chips).  I want chips, cookies and ice cream.  🙂  And sometimes I eat them…sometimes too much.

I am also on an exercise program.  They want me to be walking for 30 minutes a day at a rate fast enough to get my heart rate up to at least 80 beats a minute.  There is a gym at my apartment complex so I can use their treadmill to get my 30 minuets in.  But I’m supposed to be doing this 5 days a week and I have trouble getting in more than 3 days.

The reason I am blogging about this is because I am hoping to shame myself enough to do better!  The nurse at the classes says we have to not be too hard on ourselves and understand that this is a process.  That we aren’t going to wake up the day after taking the class and do everything the new way.  That if we have a bad day, we need to just let it go and get up the next day to try again.  I don’t think having a bad day everyday, and saying oh well I’ll try harder tomorrow is quit what she meant.   I do want to live healthy, so I need to try harder.

OK I will shut up now and share some pictures.  These are our two cats.  Jade  is 15 years old.  She is my daughter’s cat (I live with my daughter).  She isn’t doing well right now.  She has skin cancer of the eyelid and we are quit worried about her.

Image

Makaya is my cat.  He is 6 years old.

Image

Everyone have a great day and keep smiling!  🙂

Aside

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rachel whetzel
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 13:46:35

    Hang in there, Shirley!! Life changes are tough, and they take TIME to become HABIT. You’ve got this. As a wise fish once said in a movie…. Just keep SWIMMING!!

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 17:55:17

    I think you are just like the rest of us, we know we should do more than we are doing , sometimes. Don’t beat yourself up for not doing it all, pat yourself on the back, for doing better! Cheers to your health! Take care, and cute cats, talk about opposites😊

    Reply

  3. Raine
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 23:25:00

    I agree with Jackie. Just do the best you can. None of us is perfect. Your cats are gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. garcinia cambogia extract
    Aug 10, 2013 @ 08:37:06

    Hi, all the time i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the break of day,
    as i enjoy to find out more and more.

    Reply

  5. Cara Donley
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 12:37:44

    Oof! It’s terribly difficult to totally change your eating habits overnight in such a drastic way. I ate a vegetarian diet for a little over a year and the biggest tip I can give you is to find things you enjoy eating that have a lot of flavor, so you don’t miss the meat so much. Olive oil is a great substitute for butter when cooking. If you like fish, go with that! Something you could try this time of year would be a basil pesto on grilled or baked salmon. Lots of flavor there 🙂 Salads are good too, and if you can make your own dressing, even better. Your diet and health issues sound a lot like my mama and what I expect to have as I get older, and the biggest thing that helps her is exercise, no matter what she eats (because she could eat perfect and still have all the health crap). If you have an iPod or some kind of media device to listen to or watch while on the treadmill, that will help the time pass and eventually you will look forward to that time just to be able to listen to a podcast or watch a show. 😀 Keep us posted about your progress! And remember, you’re not alone. I try to eat healthfully but it’s so hard when you’re surrounded by stuff you’re not supposed to have. When I was veg, and had a friend who had been veg for almost her whole life, she told me that eventually she just stopped seeing meat as food. I think that kind of helps, to be able to look at the things you’re not supposed to have and think, “that’s not even going to nourish me at all.” Or when I look at alcohol, I think, “that’s poison” instead of “ooh, let’s get drunk!” because I don’t like the taste, haha. Just kind of changing your mindset I guess. And just because you have an “off” day doesn’t mean you can’t pick right up where you are and keep at it. It’s a process. 🙂 Ahhhhhhh I wrote a darn book so I’ll shut up now, hahaha. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

