Enjoy yourself…don’t listen to others

I had an encounter with this lady today who made me feel bad about my art.  I know I shouldn’t let what she says bother me.  To her, abstract art is the only true art.   She doesn’t think you should try to draw faces, or animals, or anything realistic and says that is just garbage.  My use of stamps and stencils annoys her to no end!  She came over to my house to explain to me how to use various mediums in my art.  I did not ask for her advice, she just seemed to get up this morning and thought she should give it to me.  Then found out I was already using most of the mediums she wanted to tell me to use.  That I am just trying to enjoy myself and not be some famous artist….she doesn’t care.  She tells me she thinks I have enormous talent that I am wasting by doing what I am doing and not doing what she thinks I should do.  LOL 

Because of who she is related to (a friend of ours) I don’t want to be too rude, but boy did I have to use a lot of self control to not tell her to just go away and stay away. I’m telling you by the time she left, she had me feeling bad about my work.  That is so silly of me.  Why do I let someone like that bother me.  Well anyway, she ruined my evening…well at least part of it.  I am pulling myself out of it now.  Thanks in part from the fact that I could sit down, blog about it, and in doing so see how silly it is to listen to such gibberish.  I am doing my art to make me happy.   My problem is I don’t take criticism well.  Even if I think the person is wrong, I let what they say bother me.  OK I need to just put her out of my mind and just be happy I have found my art.  🙂

And I need to smile!  Right?

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 02:59:47

    You should have immediately held up a stencil and sprayed her with dylusions!!

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 03:09:12

    I’m with Janelle! What I *wanted* to say was way more rude!

    Reply

  3. Cindy E.
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 03:22:45

    Yes, what Janelle said!! There are a lot of people in my life (most of them) that I cannot share my art with. They just don’t get it, and I’m having too much fun to take on informing them. And that’s ok. You’re right … smile, be happy, MAKE YOUR ART for YOU … no one else!

    Reply

  4. Pam Parker
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 03:38:52

    I think the whole idea of art journaling and mixed media is that it is for ourselves. I too am a newby Shirley, never done any art of any kind in my life. BUT I AM HAVING FUN!! And at my age that is what is important. Take no notice of the silly cow.

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Aug 22, 2013 @ 12:00:40

      I’m 68 and I am very grateful to be able to have art journaling and mixed media in my life! I think she is a very unhappy person and … you know … misery loves company…and all that kind of thing.

      Reply

  5. Lois
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 06:40:53

    Van Gogh’s art was hated; the art of all the impressionists was also hated during it’s time. and I know artists that feel abstract art is not art at all. I also know many people who think art is a waste of time. Continue to enjoy your art and have fun. The important thing is not what is on the ‘canvas’ anyway – what is important is the new you from the inside out every time you complete a piece.

    Reply

  6. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 08:15:49

    Absolutely what Janelle said! You do what makes YOU happy. What other people think about it is none of your concern. So…carry on! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Jessica Ann Lane
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 08:48:04

    My ex husband made me feel guilty because I used art as therapy to process emotions and as a healthy outlet. I ended up hiding my art from him. He is my ex now so I can surround myself with art and whoever doesn’t like it or “get it” I kindly tell to shove it.

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Aug 22, 2013 @ 12:04:36

      I wish I could tell this lady to “shove it”. She is a wife of one of my daughters co-workers and we really like him and don’t want to cause him any discomfort, but I sure hope she stays home, because next time I might not be in a good mood.

      Reply

  8. Amy O'Toole
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 09:45:52

    Wow. Definitely a reflection on her and her issues! I would not be spending time with her! I hope you are able to spend some time nurturing yourself today and doing what brings you JOY! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Effy Wild
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 11:12:04

    Oh wow. That woman needs to learn about boundaries. What a shame she felt the need to pee on your parade. 😦

    Reply

  10. Delisa
    Aug 22, 2013 @ 11:49:36

    Oh art snobbery. It is one of my fave snobberies (Not!). Art is an opinion. Whether it is bad or good is an opinion. Whether something is or isn’t art is an opinion. And you know what opinions are like right?

    You can feel bad for that lady if you want to, but why waste the energy? You keep rockin’ your art your way.

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Aug 22, 2013 @ 12:13:50

      Oh I love this Delisa! You are right. Art is an opinion! I don’t feel bad for her, I feel bad for her husband and son. When the lady left, my daughter said “Wow, I wouldn’t want to live with her!”

      Reply

  11. Janet Williams
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 19:17:32

    Friends can give advice or comments, but only when you ask for them.

    Arts take many forms, and if you pursue the area you’re interested in and the particular form of arts that brings you joy and creativity, your possibilities are endless.

    Your friend may not understand you that well when she gave you the unwelcome comment. If you think she has some good points, take them. If not, you know your arts and your passion, you develop your own world and people who love your arts will come to you.

    I do papercraft (origami) and some friends commented (sometimes jokingly) that I wasted my time. I understand your feeling as comments as such are not helpful.

    I hope you’re feeling stronger afterwards, and carry on with your beautiful arts. All the best to you.

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Aug 25, 2013 @ 12:59:11

      Thank you for taking the time to comment on my post. I, unfortunately, am a person who worries too much about what others say. I am still today thinking of things she said that bothered me, though I think I am letting it affect me less. She isn’t even a friend, she is just a neighbor. I will not let her stop me from working on my art. I just wish I could slough off things like this faster.

      Reply

  12. thea nicholas
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 17:17:40

    Shirley, I am just now reading this (Sat, Aug 31). What struck me about your post (other than the RUDE behaviour of someone’s child!) was your comment about not taking criticism well. That can always be a bit touchy for most of us, but what she was handing out was not criticism for improvement but rather a tearing down of self. You’re not supposed to like that, nor take it either. If/when she shows up again, I’d be prepared to steer her clear of the subject of art…if that’s all you have in common, then. so sad. too bad. good bye. Don’t let her bully you. We can only imagine what her life is really like.

    PS, I love your fun little smile..it makes me grin each time I see it….

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Aug 31, 2013 @ 18:15:49

      Thea, she lives in the next building in our apartment complex. And to get to her car she has to walk by our apartment. Her husband works with my daughter (they both work and live here on the site). I live with my daughter. Trying not to be too rude to her because we really like her husband. But I know I have spent time since then saying to myself, I should have said this. LOL I was so shocked at her rudeness, it was hard for me to react. We are hoping we were just rude enough that she will get the point and not do it again.
      Thank you for your understanding.
      Sending hugs and smiles 🙂

      Reply

  13. Dawn Howell
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 02:32:37

    I am working on a painting, and I was thinking of changing the colors to something people might like better, and my Husband said Paint it the way YOU want to! and he’s right, that’s WHY I enjoy what I do! Keep doing it YOUR way!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

