Princess Jade

That is what we call her…Princess Jade.  She is one of our two cats.  She is 15 years old (I have told you all this before probably), and we love her very much.  We are animal people and we get very attached to our pets.  Jade is a sun lover.Image

She spends (or used to spend) hours basking in the warm sun.

As you can see she is an all white cat.  We used to laugh at how she would find the sun and lay in its warmth all the time.  This photo is taken on the top of the stairs of the neighbors patio. 

Image

She loves this plant.  Sleeps four hours snuggled around it in the sun on our deck.

Image

Or when we moved it, with just her head resting on it.

Image

Or at the top of the stairs.

She loves the outdoors.  She spent a lot of time chasing squirrels, birds and dragonflies.  Not no more.  Jade has skin cancer on her eyelid…all of the sitting in the sun it seems has it repercussions.   Especially for a white cat, according to the veterinarian.   So know, if we let her go outside, we have to keep her in the shade.  This means constant supervising on my part.  Earlier I couldn’t find her and she was on the neighbors deck hiding under one of their chairs, but in the sun.  So I had to go over to their deck and retrieve her.  She didn’t run away as she saw me coming.  She knows she isn’t supposed to be their because she is very smart.  I said “Jade, you know you are not supposed to be here.”.  She meowed and walked towards me, let me pick her up and take her home. 

I took her to the top of our stairs.  Onto our patio, in the shade.  Sat with her and cried.  I know we will soon loose Jade.  And it is hard not to let her do what she wants.  The vets only solution was to take her eye.  However, she can’t see very good out of her other eye due to a problem she has had in it since birth.  We feel, at her age, to basically make her almost blind, would not be the best decision for her.  That she wouldn’t be happy.  

She is on a less evasive, naturolpathic treatment.  It will take some time to help and may or may not help at all, but we are trying.  We love her very much and are not ready to make the decision to send her to Summerland.  She is our Princess.  Princess Jade.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetredclover
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:45:37

    Oh, she’s so beautiful! I love the picture of her just laying her head on the plant…she must love that plant very much! 🙂

    I’m so sorry that she’s having some issues. The furbabies really do become our true family, and it’s so heartbreaking when they are feeling badly. Last year, I had to let go of my dog Dingo, who I’d had since I was 10 years old. I was very lucky, because I got to have her in my life for 19 years, which is basically unheard of for a big dog like she was, and very lucky that she was happy and healthy for all that time except for the last few weeks. I know that she was the dog for me, because I had always been a cat person, and she was such a cat-like dog that she just made me love her very much. When she passed, I lost my best friend, my only friend for a lot of my younger years…and I’m going to stop talking now, because I am making myself cry…

    What I mean to say is that I’m happy that Princess Jade has people who love her so much and take care of her so well. I am sending good and healing vibes out to her, and please give her an extra treat tonight for me. ❤ My thoughts are with you and your pretty furbaby.

    Reply

  2. Cara
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:53:23

    *HUGS.* I’ve read a little about blind cats and they get around surprisingly well, although because she likes to go outside she might be annoyed at having to be an indoor cat. But they rely so much on scent that so long as there are no dramatic furniture changes, they can get around okay. But I understand your decision not to put her through surgery when she is already pretty old for a kitty. I had a melanoma-mole removed from my arm so I feel for you since skin cancer is A Thing for me, too. *hug hug hug hug hug hug hug hug hug*

    Reply

  3. Raine
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 17:17:57

    We lost our kitty, Cheyenne, a few years ago. Sometimes I still see her in the house. My sensitive friends have seen her, too. We gave her a good life and she gave us lots of love and purrs in return.
    Hugs to you and Princess Jade.

    Reply

  4. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 19:06:41

    She’s beautiful Shirley ❤ I'll hope for the best possible outcome for her… you never know, lots of things have been known to treat cancer that are not from the mainstream medical community. At the very least, I'll imagine that the rest of her life will be pain free. Lots of Love and Peace to you and Princess Jade too xo

    Reply

  5. Ruth Feria
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 19:57:48

    this reminds me of when my 19 yr old cat who had renal failure went blind because of high blood pressure. I was surprised at how well he got around. But once I did some reading on the internet about medication to treat the high blood pressure, we got him on it and the blindness went away!! I was angry that the vet didn’t say that high blood pressure could be a result of renal failure, so now I know. But we only had him for another month before he went into hiding and that was my signal to let him go.
    At 15, I had his thyroid radiated and he was fine with it, so cats even at that age can still live well for a few more years. Don’t let the fact that she could go blind deter you from giving her a few more years of love….they do adapt.

    Reply

  6. Jessica Ann Lane
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 22:11:21

    Awwww sweet kitty

    Reply

  7. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:19:37

    Aww Shirley, Jade is such a beautiful cat. So sorry to hear she may not be around for much longer, that’s so sad. I did laugh when I saw the 2nd photo, I don’t know why cats always seem to like sleeping in the most uncomfortable-looking places! My cat likes to sleep on top of my clothes airer while clothes are still damp. It looks like it would really hurt but he loves it and I can’t make him stop using it as his own personal climbing frame, LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

