Faces and Doodeling

My day has been…well not really messed up, but not going along it’s usual trail.  It is almost 11:00 am and I have been up since 6:30am.  I haven’t even had breakfast yet.  With my Diabetes and my pill taking it is important for me to eat my meals.  So I am having breakfast right now. 

I have several different things to share with you today.  I haven’t posted my last couple of faces for you to critique.  Several of you have seen them posted in our group, but here they are for those of you who haven’t seen them yet.

Image

This is face 5/29.  I wanted to try doing closed eyes.  I don’t think I was very successful at making the eyes realistically closed.  That means I will just have to try again.

Image

I liked the blue hair that several people have been doing…thus I did blue hair.

Image

This is face 6/29.  I wanted to try using my Caran D’Ache Neocolors and my new Aqua-flo watercolor paint brushes.  The background is acrylic.  I first sketched her lightly in pencil and then used the Neocolors.  I really like them.  In fact I like them so much I am working on today’s face only with them.  I am not sketching the face out first.  Wish me luck with that one.  I figure, if it turns out awful, I can always paint over it.  🙂

I have a friend that wants me to go back on DeviantArt.  Spent a great deal of my morning re-activating my DeviantArt account.  I haven’t been on it since 2009 and couldn’t remember my user name or password.  Have that all fixed now and posted some of my art on it.  I used it to post my photographs before, so this will be different for me.  There are so many talented artist on their.  Don’t remember how to maneuver the site and use all the little goodies on it.  But I will pick it up again.  I bet they have a button I could put here in my blog.

Also wanted to share with you a page in my Planner that I am doodling.  I check for doodles to try on Pinterest and try them out in my planner.  It is still a work in progress, but I like the way it is going.

Image

Doodles don’t come easy for me, but I want the ability to do them to work them in to my Art Journals.

Well I need to go work on my face for today.  Hope you have a great weekend!  Sending hugs and smiles!  🙂

Aside

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fluffyash
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 16:20:54

    I love all the different styles and interest you pursue!

    Reply

  2. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 18:19:53

    Thanks. If you don’t go everywhere, how will you know where you want to be. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 18:54:50

    I love your attitude too Shirley… ‘If I don’t like it, I can just paint over it’ ;D Your faces are great! I love those Neocolor II crayons too. If you like watercolor mediums, you might like Derwent inktense pencils too… really vibrant color and you can buy them individually at somewhere like Dick Blicks so you don’t have to sell the farm to have a few you like. I’m not diabetic, but I can completely relate to missing meals because I’m so busy doing something else ;D Peace my friend xo

    Reply

  4. rose
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 09:33:04

    Love your faces ~ and from my perspective, those closed eyes work! Of course, we can all improve on where we are, so I get what you’re sayin’. 🙂 And your doodles are pretty awesome ~ love those too!

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Sep 08, 2013 @ 11:12:27

      Improvement is what the 29 faces is all about I for me. Not making a perfect face, because I can’t do that, but learning new things, using different mediums and getting practice in so that my faces will improve. Practice is what it is about. 🙂

      Reply

  5. melitasmixedmedia
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 21:16:48

    All your faces are so lovely. I love the alphabet journal idea, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

