Faces and BOD

A few of weeks ago I was playing with my homemade spray paints and some new stencils I had purchased.  Just wanted to see if the spray paint worked OK and what the little stencils looked like when I used them.  Hmmm  should have taken a photo of that so you could see.  Oh well  🙂 

Then one day I decided to try out sketching faces with just an ordinary pen I had around the house (a Papermate pen).  So I grabbed the piece of paper I had experimented with my paints on, turned it over and drew a couple of faces on it.  Liked the way the pen worked and have been using it here and there ever since.  It will write on most surfaces.  I will have to get more of them before this one runs out of ink.

So today at about 4:30 am I was unable to sleep and got up.  Thought I would work on another face.  Saw the two faces I had already drawn and decided to use those.  Thus catching myself up with faces!   Yahhh!  I added a little color with paint pens, colored pencils.  Tore the picture out of the page.  Flipped the bits that were left over so the spray paints and stencils showed.  Used Gell Medium to glue both the faces and the background down, and this is what I got.

Image

Face 17 and 18 for 29 Faces.  I had such fun doing this (even if it was 4:30 am)

Image

Face 17.  Was trying to do a childs face.  Going to try this some more. 

Image

Face 18.  I like the way the face looks when you just put a minimal amount of color on it.  May do this more often.

Also thought I would share my Book of Days Lesson 11 with you in case you haven’t already seen it.

Image

This is the complete spread.  I used watered down acrylic paints for the background.  Then stencils and stamps for more texture.  I made a stencil out of cardboard for the feather.  Then used black acrylic paint to put down the basic feather and beige acrylic paint for the accent.  Highlighted it with black charcoal pencil.

Image

The face was sketched in colored pencil, painted with acrylics and highlighted in the colored pencils.  This was my first attempt at making a braid.  I like the way it turned out.  Will be doing it again.

OK That’s it for now.  Have to go see the doctor this morning.  I have been in pain (my hips) since Thursday and have procrastinated talking to the Dr about it long enough.  It is some better then it was at first, but I think that is just because I have been doing very little.  If I get up and stand for to long, or try to walk very far (like to the mail box) the pain comes back with a vengeance.  I haven’t got a clue why, so thought I should tell my Dr about it.  Hopefully he will look at me and it will be all better and that will be the end of that (not too likely though).   Don’t want something else wrong with me!!  So please send good thoughts.  Have a happy, smiley day! 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debi
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 14:30:49

    Good thoughts! And keep doing your Art! It will make everything else disappear? xoDebi

    Reply

  2. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 13:07:16

    Thanks Debi!

    Reply

  3. Debbie
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 01:01:40

    I enjoyed reading your about process and seeing your faces, Shirley.

    Was sorry to hear you’re having pain in your hips. Glad you went to see the doctor and hoping you are feeling much better very soon. Sending warm thoughts and well wishes . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

