Where do I fit in?

I have been trying to understand where I fit in in the art world.  What type of artist I am.   I admire greatly those of you who can paint a face so that it looks like some great master painted it.  To me, you are great masters in your own right.  But do I want to do that?  No  At least not right now.  Than what is it that I want.  Why am I trying to draw faces at all?  I realize I just want the ability to draw faces well enough to put them on my collaged backgrounds.  LOL  I want to have something to put on the backgrounds some of the time, but want it to be something I made.  Clipping faces from magazines and putting them on the background (not that there is anything wrong with that)  just doesn’t make me happy.  I am searching for what makes me happy in my art.  Otherwise, why am I doing it?  I have no intention of selling my art, so I think I am only doing it to make myself happy.  🙂

I have decided that I am a Collage Artist, a Multi Media Artist and that the faces or other sketches, animals, houses, trees, flowers, etc., are incidental to the collage and background fun.

Inspiration:  Some Little Art by Suzi Dennis  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H54rGfzj0lQ

and My Homemade Smash Book by JournalArtista  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CScaUB9J2a4&list=PLB4CB79E46810BF9F&index=18

I have found the 29 Faces to be quite a challenge keeping up with.  And I think when this challenge is complete I will step back a bit from the face making and concentrate more on the mixed media thing for a while.  Give myself a rest.  Not to say that I won’t be making faces.  We do a lot of faces in Effy Wild’s Book of Days class and I will do them in my own journals, but I won’t have to create them daily.

Before I go I would like to share my angle.  I used her as face 19/29.  But she is really just something my muse wanted to do and I let her.  She and I enjoyed this and I will be working on doing some more angles in the future.

Faces 19 of 29 001

Namaste.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Effy Wild
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 12:16:38

    It’s good to know where the juice is for you!

    Reply

  2. Mariane
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 12:54:34

    I admire wildly the collage artists – I really want to do so too or at least try it… but I don’t have room for that kind of creativity just yet.. so I am doing my faces on the computer – or lately I have done 2 faces from today.. I use otherwise some drawings I done a few years ago.. It is hard to be an artist and especially know where one is standing in this art business – it is also difficult to know when one want to do so much. My believes are that if you don’t try when you have your muse whispering in your ear – you will always long for trying it. Do you have room for be creative then do it. Do all you feel for – if not faces then there is something else you feel for. Just go Shirley and I will follow you and see what you do… Big hugs 😀

    Reply

  3. fluffyash
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 18:39:55

    Glad you Found your specialty and interest, at least for now! Your doing great faces for the challenge. Yeah it’s sometimes harder to enjoy, when you feel the pressure, of getting it done! May I ask how did you go about starting your blog? Ant tips or hints, for someone, who hasn’t the first clue???☺😉

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Sep 21, 2013 @ 12:40:54

      Well you might have asked the wrong person since I just started this blog last month and am certainly no expert. Effy Wild had a challenge of 30 blogs in 30 days and I read other peoples blogs in the group and decided I wanted to participate. I wanted a free blog, because who knows if I will continue to use it, besides I to tell the truth I couldn’t afford to pay for one. I saw someone else with a WordPress blog and went on their and picked one of their free themes. I am still trying to figure it out. I can write my blog post and I am beginning to figure out the editing, but am having trouble with the little icons on the right hand side that I want to post. If you figure anything useful out, let me know. LOL

      Reply

  4. Trackback: 16, 17 of 29 Faces “We Could Have Danced All Night” September 2013 | Sherry Key, Artist
  5. Sherry Key, Artist
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 12:34:22

    Shirley, keep on truckin! I don’t know who says we have to conform with a particular style. Galleries and art experts I guess. Just paint, paint and draw, draw…see what happens. When you are creating don’t think too much about what others are doing. Be loose. You’re doing a great job. After many years I found that one style just ties me down. It’s just not me. I admire people that have one but I just ain’t got no style but my own…(-:

    When people say I know it’s your art when I look at it, I guess that’s my style of sorts.

    Reply

  6. rose
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 18:44:27

    Your angel is charming. And your awareness is your power ~ harness it!

    Reply

  7. ladytruenorth
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 21:52:31

    Hi Shirley- hey there. OK I had a wander round my wordpress blog (yep used to do those too) and when you go to make a new posting in your edit mode, up on the bar, there are 2 peanut looking things – those are link and unlink. When you want to ‘link’ something in your posting, just highlight and hit that ‘link peanut’ and you can take it from there. What I do is go first to the site that I want to link (be it youtube or blog) copy the url address and then highlight that sucker in my posting – once that is done, then hit the link peanut and ‘paste’ your url info in there. Clear as mud? give me a holler at ladynorth at shaw dot ca and I can figure out to walk you through it. blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

