Creating New Journals

Today I wanted to share with you the journals I have been making.  It seems to be taking up all of my creative time to decide what type of journal I want to make out of the materials I have around the house.  The first journal I made was to bind and cover my 29 Faces in 30 Days.  I did these faces on loose mixed media paper and now needed to bind them.  I had a chipboard cover that belonged to some old book that ….hmmm OK cann’t remember why I had the cover, but anyway, I used it.  Cut it to size and decoupaged craft paper over it.  Then I decided that because it was for 29 faces it needed a face on it.  So drew a face (was able to do that without a lot of stressing because of the 29 faces challenge) and here it is!

29 Faces in 30 Days Journal

29 Faces in 30 Days Journal

Face for 29 Faces Cover

Face for 29 Faces Cover

I used Coptic stitch to bind this.  OK it isn’t perfect, but I really like this type of stitch.

Coptic Stitch on 29 Faces Journal

Coptic Stitch on 29 Faces Journal

I like the way the book opens up and lays flat.

Spread from 29 Faces Journal

Spread from 29 Faces Journal

So now I need to make some art journals to work in.  Where do I get my supplies?  My daughter is a maintenance tech at the apartment complex we live in.  When people move out, they leave all kinds of things.  If she thinks I can use them in my crafts, she brings them home.  She brought home a sketch book someone had left.  It didn’t have the front cover on it, so I cann’t tell you exactly what it was.  It was 14″ x 11″ and most of the pages where blank, so I took it apart to make myself a journal.  I had 20 sheets which I folded in have and ended up with 5 signatures of 4 sheets each that are 7″ x 11″.  Then, OK I spent money.  I bought chip board (the cheep kind) for $3.99 to use for the cover.  Cut it to size.  Covered it with craft paper (I love this paper so much I don’t know if I will embellish it).  And sewed it together again using the Coptic stitch.  So here it is.

New Art Journal

New Art Journal

I also put together my little Right Brain Planner that I got from Braveheart.

October Right Brain Planner

October Right Brain Planner

What’s next?  I have a lined book, sort of like a composition book, but larger and with thicker paper.

Journal to be

Journal to be

The top left corner has had coffee spilled on it (since I will be covering it with paint and gesso, I don’t care) and the black covering is peeling.  So far I have glued back down the covering and torn out every 3rd page.  Yep, I saved those pages and am going to make another journal out of them.  🙂

So this is where I am at the moment.  I will share the completed journals as I finish them.  I also have two more tablets of paper that my daughter brought me, I think I will make journals out of.  Having to use what ever paper is available can be a challenge, but I figure I am very blessed to have these free gifts from the Universe, and I like the challenge of the unknown paper.

Hope you have a creative and beautiful day.  Namaste

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariane
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:06:14

    I could have answered your post in Facebook – but as I love to have answers on my blog I will answer yours here 😉 – I love the way you make these journals – I have to wait till I have more room (have to change some furnitures with something else I guess) – The way you bind yours is just great too.. Thanks for sharing, dear Shirley 😀

    Reply

  2. Ariel Gill
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:30:20

    Shirley, you got me all excited to make some journals. Thanks for the inspiration. Love your blog. I don’t always “reply” but love to read it. *MWAH*

    Reply

  3. Sandi
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:49:01

    ooooh i love that!!!

    Reply

  4. Jackie Beeman
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 16:03:57

    LOOOOVVVVVE THAT COVER, FOR YOUR 29FACES, AND THE COPTIC STICTH!!!! Great work , nice journals!

    Reply

  5. Cindy Easter
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 17:50:13

    Thank you for sharing your journal-making. I especially love your 29 Faces journal! Like Ariel, you’ve got me all excited to make another journal!

    Reply

  6. Katherine Gale
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 20:29:05

    I love hand-made journals. Your Coptic stitch ones are lovely and the 29 faces one is really special. You will enjoy them for years to come!

    Reply

  7. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 23:40:47

    I love making new journals. Though I did make myself a promise that I’d be using them up this year, as I make progress in them, I make new ones for next year anyway lol. I think it’s all part-and-parcel of the creative journaling process anyway ;D These came out beautiful Shirley ❤

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Oct 08, 2013 @ 12:35:33

      I have yet to buy an already made journal. Not sure I will. I like making them in different sizes and with different papers. Makes each one a bit different and interesting.

      Reply

  8. Raine
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 04:40:53

    I love your journals! LOVE your 29 Faces journal! I thought you needed signatures for the coptic stitch. You can do it with single sheets? Very cool!

    Reply

  9. rose
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 11:25:55

    How wonderful ~ all of it! And your coptic stitches may not be perfect (what is?), but they are BEAUtiful!

    Merry creating!

    Reply

  10. Fil
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 20:22:45

    Lovely 🙂
    … and like everyone else here I’m really inspired to have a go …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

