Art As A Way To Relax

Spent my time this week working in my new journals.  It helps set aside the worry that life brings on us all.  For those of you who have been so wonderful sending good thoughts to my mom, I want to thank you for doing so.  She is starting to adjust to the nursing home.  She is in a wonderful nursing home that takes very good care of her.  We are hoping and praying she gets to stay there and doesn’t get transferred to one of the less wonderful nursing homes.

Art is a wonderful way to ease the stress in life.  I tried to decide what to do in my new journals and decided collage makes me relax more than anything else.  So I started with that.

COMPOSITION BOOK JOURNAL

Layered spread

Layered spread

Layering

Layering

I also used some Spackle and a stencil to create some texture.

Brayered with Gesso

Brayered with Gesso

Then decided this needed a face and some little things here and there to finish it.  This was all done slowly over several days and while going back and forth between this journal and some of my other journals.

Added a face

Added a face

I know we aren’t supposed to criticize our own work, but I am not comfortable with the colors in this one.  Just saying…..

2008 Calendar Journal

I had a 2008 book calendar and decided to use it as an art journal.  This is the first page.

First page in calendar journal

First page in calendar journal

Collage and some journaling

Collage and some journaling

Doing this page on a very bad day worrying about my mom.  It helped a lot.

Doing this page on a very bad day worrying about my mom. It helped a lot.

I worked on a second page for this journal.

2nd page Calendar Art Journal.

2nd page Calendar Art Journal.

Love the simple textures.

Love the simple textures.

Hope you enjoyed seeing these first pages.  Again, I want to thank all of you for your kindness.  It helps immensely!  Sending you light and love.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raine
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 17:15:21

    I love ALL of these!!! Your girl painting is wonderful! You seem to really have found your style with these. I love how they are all smiling. They make me happy!

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 17:56:35

    You really do shine with your collage talent, love all the textures and color and your red headed girl looks beautiful. Glad your mom is adjusting well.

    Reply

  3. Catherine
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 21:10:11

    I would have never thought to use my old day books as a journal. Your pages are great. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. Cherie Murray
    Oct 27, 2013 @ 21:25:18

    I love peeking in other people’s art journals & watching a page come to life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

