Art Book? Maybe

How many of you feel that an art journal isn’t an art “journal” unless you put words on the page?  Do you feel that way because you really “feel”  that this is fact, or that you have heard someone else say it?

Sometimes I have to force myself to put words on a page.  Because I have heard that my page isn’t finished until I have journaled (put words) on it.  What if I don’t want words on a particular page?  “But you SHOULD put words on the page!  You Must or it isn’t a journal page!”  No it isn’t a journal page…but is it an art journal.  

When I started art journaling, I didn’t know I would find prejudice against my pages if I didn’t write in them.  I thought an art journal was a book you created art in.  But some people, quite adamantly, say:  “NO!  You must write on each and every page or it isn’t an art journal!” I guess the journal I made for 29 Faces in 30 Days isn’t a journal at all, because I didn’t write in any of my pages.

Hmmm So if I want to have an art journal, but don’t want to write in it; what do I call it?  What will make you happy?  Maybe I should call it an Art Book?  But I don’t like the sound of that:  art book…art book.   No I don’t like the sound of that.  And I hate the word “should”.

Sorry.  I think I need to free myself from the need to put words on a page and only do that when it is what I want to do.  After all it is my art journal.

This spread is me trying to be patient.

This spread is me trying to be patient.

This spread is me trying to be patient.  Waiting to hear if we get the house we are trying to buy.

Waiting

Waiting

Waiting, Waiting, Waiting

The page is full of sewing notions, but the thing on my mind was “waiting”.

Buttons and ribbons.  Something to do while I wait.

Buttons and ribbons. Something to do while I wait.

This journal page has no writing because that would ruin the feel of it.  I love circles and wanted to do a page of nothing but circles.

I think circles remind me of bubbles floating to freedom.

I think circles remind me of bubbles floating to freedom.

Just circles.

Just circles.

And more circles...made me happy  :-)

And more circles…made me happy 🙂

Well let me know what you think about the art journal shoulds.  I would truly be interested in your point of view.  May not abide by it, but would love to hear about it.

You have a smiley day!

So I thought I would share two of my latest art journal pages…one with words….and one without.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mariane
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 15:52:32

    I simply love what you are doing here and making an art journal – words? – well only if you really really FEEL for it, otherwise don’t do it …. it IS your art and your way to make an art piece whatever it is a book journal or …. whatsever lol – Shirley why not make it the way you really love to make it?? – You might be able to sell it like it is – and if someone like to have words? Then let THEM make the words and put it on their own?.. I have no intention of listening to what other things or mean when I start to make my own – whatever they call it. It is going to be MINE … 😉 – as I said – I love your art !!!!

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Nov 22, 2013 @ 16:07:03

      Thank you Mariane. I have been forcing words on my pages and just don’t want to any more. Like you said it is mine.

      Reply

      • Mariane
        Nov 22, 2013 @ 16:09:36

        Exactly … Shirley – My mother always told me I wasn’t good enough to do any art – not with words but attitudes and I wasn’t allowed to use hers pencils so in many years I thought I couldn’t do anything – but at least I start now in my own rhythm and pace with what I like and I am not listening to any anymore lol I am me – and you ARE YOU!!! – 😀

  2. elenacaravela
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 17:02:48

    Beautiful pages! I think that you should free yourself to do whatever pleases you-no rules:)

    Reply

  3. fluffyash
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 20:41:48

    How about book of art! Because it is a book and it’s art, and it’s none of anyone’s business, what you call it! Your pages look great and they art! Create and follow your heart!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Reply

  4. Katherine Gale
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 00:10:14

    Oh boy, you brought up a subject that causes me great consternation. I have a hard time journaling because often I just don’t know what to say. I don’t like to hear that art journaling is all about writing on your pages….really? Often times I will include a quote just so I have something written on the page but why? Who am I trying to please? I have started thinking of my journals as visual art journals because I like to just play with color and collage. I have not developed my own style so I agree – it is my book and I will do what I want to. I hope you do too because your work is beautiful…words or no words!

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Nov 24, 2013 @ 11:10:37

      Thank you Katherine. That is what I have decided. I am going to put words on my pages only when I feel them. And I am going to call them Art Journals. After all, who hired these Art Journal police anyway and who passed the laws saying what you can and can’t do. They’re are journals and we can do what we want. LOL

      Reply

      • Katherine Gale
        Nov 24, 2013 @ 13:17:20

        I am happy to hear that others have the same issue with putting words on the page…..maybe we should start our own group of wordless art journals! LOL!

  5. Raine
    Nov 24, 2013 @ 20:15:16

    It’s an Art Journal, Shirley. There are absolutely NO RULES in art journaling! Don’t let anyone intimidate you by saying otherwise. I have an entire art journal of “just backgrounds”, no images, no writing. But it’s Art…in a Journal. So it’s an Art Journal! It’s whatever you want it to be, my dear friend. It’s for YOU. If someone else criticizes it, THEY are missing the whole point! Do what you want. Write. Don’t write. I LOVE your circles! They express happiness and lightness to me. Most art doesn’t even NEED words. The art speaks for itself.

    Reply

    • Shirley Douglass
      Nov 25, 2013 @ 12:23:13

      Thanks Raine ❤ I think because I'm kind of new at this, I let comments like that make me feel insecure. But I know you are right. It is art in a journal…so an Art Journal. Glad you like the circles :-).

      Reply

  6. Tia
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 15:52:28

    People sure do love to “should” all over other people. Your journal pages are a beautiful expression of where you are and how you feel, in the way that it feels right for YOU to express, regardless of whether or not they have words. Creativity is such a personal expression and it’s too bad that some people feel the need to impose their opinion on the creativity of others. I love your pages and you can feel the expressive energy of them, words or not, art journal, art book, whatever and however YOU feel like expressing it. 🙂

    Reply

  7. dhowell9000
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 21:30:32

    Laughing Out Loud!! O MY!!!! This got some GREAT responses Shirley!! I dont always write on my pages….sometimes its better if I dont! I know what I felt and that is all that counts! its like listening to music without words, its still music, right? and it can still move me either way!! I LOVE your pages, There are no police, only opininons, and thats ok too, who was it that said… ” you can be the juciest, ripest, peach on the tree, and some people still hate peaches”. Its all good my friend! Its ALL good!! 😉

    Reply

  8. dhowell9000
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 21:33:43

    PS. I really hope you get your house!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Instagram Photos

#Faces #squaready One of my faces Makaya latest place to sit.  #cats #pets We lost our Princess Jade to her battle with cancer. We live you and miss you very much. #squaready Use of texture #squaready #photowizard #flowers #iphone #squaready #nature #mushroom #squaready

29 Faces in 30 Days Challenge

29 faces
killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

Sketches From Memory

Comics and Stuff by Chuck Cottrell

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

nadeauartiste

artiste en art visuel et amoureuse des arts

The WordPress.com Blog

Just a place to share some of my creations

Sneaking Bliss

Sneaking Bliss with Mary A Livingston

lisajaynemurray

Taking over the world...one Illustration at a time

Brian Kasstle

Artist and Teacher

The Window

The Window to the world seen with the Authors eyes kept in black & white

killingthevampyre

Burning the Midnight Blood with a Creative Insomniac

Quinn Creative

No one succeeds without excellent communication skills. Good writing is compelling. Good communication is convincing. Good training is rare. Welcome to QuinnCreative.

A Personal Chef for Diabetics...and others

On food, on cooking, on eating

late start studio

Late . . . in taking my creativity seriously.

Wonderlust

Not everyone who wonders is lost

Mixed Media Mamas

Your home for all things Mixed Media and more!

Mysteries Unfolding with Cat Charissage

Making Meaning, Making Soul

